Tuesday, July 25, 2017
     

Filing Fee Calculator
Deeds & Mortgages only

Filing Year:
Document Type:
Single-Family Residence:
# of Pages:
Principal Amount:
Register of Deeds

215 Kansas, PO Box 278 
Alma, KS 66401 

Phone: 785-765-3822
Fax: 785-765-3824
Email: rod@wbcounty.org


According to Kansas law, no instrument is to be filed for record until the fee is paid.

 

Mortgage Registration Fee

The Mortgage Registration fee is 20% of the principal debt or obligation, which is secured by a mortgage (i.e. amount of indebtedness x .0020 = Registration Fee Due). (This is in addition to the per page filing fee listed above.)

If the name or names of the signer or signers of any notary public to any instrument to be recorded are not plainly typed or printed under the signature affixed to the instrument, the Register of Deeds shall charge and collect a fee of $1.00 in addition to all other fees provided in this section.



Register of Deeds Fee Schedule

FILING FEES


(EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2017)

*The exact amount is required for all filing fees.

 

Fee Description

Amount

Recording deeds, mortgages, other writing instruments
  --additional pages or fraction thereof

$18.00
  +$14.00

Mortgage registration Fee:
  --Calculated at 10 cents per $100 of the principal amount of indebtedness

0.10%

Release or assignment of real estate mortgage 
  --per physical page of document

$17.00
  +$4.00

Recording plats, for each page (not to exceed 30"x 36")

$29.00

Name(s) not printed or typed under signature(s) (KSA 28-115)

$1.00                           

Filing Federal Tax Lien Notices

$29.00

Release of Federal Tax Lien

$29.00

Federal Tax Lien Certificate KSA 79-2616(d)

$15.00

Release of Kansas State Employers’ Tax Lien (First page only, additional fees may apply for second and additional pages and fractions thereof)

$65.00

Discharge of State Lien from Department of Labor for overpayment of employee benefits
K.S.A. 44-717(E)(1) Additional fees may apply for second and additional pages and 
fractions thereof.

$65.00

Mechanic's Lien Personal Property  (first page)

      --additional pages of Mechanic's Lien 

$11.00
  +$1.00

Lis Pendens Federal KSA 60-2201

$5.00

Lis Pendens Non-Federal

$11.00

Document Re-file Affidavit

$18.00

Liens for materials and services under KSA 58-201, and amendments thereto

$11.00

UNIFORM COMMERCIAL CODE (National Form Required) -- All are $15 for the first 10 pages –  each additional page is $1 


NOTE: Most documents require a 3” margin on the top of the 1st page of document and 1” top, bottom and side margins throughout rest of document.  If sufficient space is not provided for the necessary recording information on a document, such information shall be placed on a cover sheet and such sheet shall be counted as a page.

(The cover sheet should include Document Type, Grantor, Grantee and Legal Description and adhere to the 3” margin rule stated above.)

* Document font can be no smaller than an 8 point font.

* KSA 28-115e “The document shall be sufficient legibility to produce a clear and legible reproduction. If a document is judged not to be of sufficient legibility, such document shall be accompanied by an exact copy thereof which shall be of sufficient legibility to produce a clear and legible reproduction and which shall be of sufficient legibility to produce a clear and legible reproduction and which shall be recorded contemporaneously with the document and shall be counted as additional pages.” The Department of Records and Tax Administration may reject any document which is not of sufficient legibility.

* Filing Fees are capped at $125.00 for a single family mortgage on principal residence of $75,000 or less. Proof must be provided by an affidavit or included in the document. MORTGAGE REGISTRATION TAX IS NOT CAPPED.

All fees are set by K.S.A. 28-115 and include Heritage Trust Fund and Technology Fees.


Document Services

 

 

Fee Description

 

Copies, per Document Page

$.50

Certification of copy

$7.50

Copies of UCC (per page)
Certification of UCC copy

$1.00

$7.50

UCC Search (per event or name). Copy fee separate. This information will not be faxed. Pick-up or mail only.
Note: UCC Information is generally purged after 5 years.

$15.00